Chain Interview


The great Lisa Morton tagged me with the following questions for a chain interview. And because I am now ‘It’ I’m going to talk about myself while chasing you around the yard until I smack your back. Until then:

1) What is the working title of your next book?

A novella: The BiPolar Express. And that’s a pretty solid title at this point. Not gonna change, as the art’s already done and done-r.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

Diagnosed with being BiPolar as a young man, and going through the many ups and downs it brings, finding a way to express my experience through my art just felt right. My son Leo loves the kid’s book The Polar Express and making a fun version of that story shot into my head like a bolt of lightning while sipping a nice tall whisky at the Frolic Room one evening.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

Bizzarro Comedy Satire.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Unknowns would be best. Although the part of Manic Claus could be really fun for a well-known actor. I pictured a coked-out Kevin Spacey when writing him.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A young man is given a Golden Prescription to ride to the Middle Pole on Christmas Eve to meet Manic Claus, who has an extra special pill for one lucky winner.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I don’t have an agent yet, so this was self-repped and is coming out next year (2013) from Dog Horn Press in the U.K., which is really neat. I had two stories in Terror Scribes, so that’s how our friendship began.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

About a month, with ongoing tweaks.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

It’s a send-up, but it’s also a deeply serious commentary on how over-medicated we’ve become. Everyone’s being diagnosed with something, which is sickening. People going through normal things in life, like deaths, break-ups, disappointments…they’re being medicated to oblivion. The BiPolar Express comments on that through what I’m hoping is humor.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My experience with the medical community and how over-medicated my body was. Instead of writing scathing indictments, which isn’t my area of expertise, I thought I’d try humor and horror and have a little romp. This is a departure for me in style, as I’ve done a lot of very serious horror up until now. Sure hoping people enjoy it.

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

As light as it seems on the surface, a lot of work was done to simplify the text so it would read more like a book for young adults. Also: I wrote a song specifically for the story: “I’m So Glad (The World’s Sad)” which was pure joy. Ho Ho Ho.

 http://doghornpublishing.com

Artwork by the super talented Vikki Hastings…an honor having her create this…and here’s a sneak peak.

And here are the links to the other authors participating in this round robin, chain interview:

Lisa Morton
http://cinriter.livejournal.com/

Brad C. Hodson
http://brad-hodson.com/2012/11/15/round-robin-interview/

Greg Chapman
http://darkscrybe.blogspot.com.au/2012/11/the-next-big-thing.html

Gary Fry
http://www.gary-fry.com/

One thought on “Chain Interview

  1. Pingback: THE NEXT BIG THING « Wordsmithery & Fictioneering

Leave a Reply

