Possible break in writer’s block

I realize that the best cure for writer’s block is simply sitting down and writing. I haven’t done that until tonight. I’ve had too many real world issues weighing on me. The state determined payments I have to make. The $600 misdemeanor traffic ticket that brings along traffic school, all for running a red light. Where is a starving artist supposed to find that kind of money? With the state taking half my income, what am I to do? I don’t know. It’s caused me tremendous stress. But in the end it’s only money. Something will work out. I know it will. Why? Because I’m going to face these hurdles head on and get through them. And you know what else? I’m going to channel this anger and frustration into some damn good writing. Tonight I found the framework and first few paragraphs of a new short story. I’ve also got a brief glimpse of a new novel fading into being. So the muse is returning, be it with tail between its legs, it’s still coming.

Leave a Reply

