New Stories

The muse has been flakey on me lately. The good news is that I’ve been searching, searching, searching. For a month I found it impossible to come up with an idea for a short story for a national anthology. As always, when I dug deep and began thinking about my personal situations, the story fell into place. I wrote a 4,700 word short story in a few hours. It came out pretty well. The next day, I did the same, coming up with a 4,650 word short story. This being me, my first passes need a lot of grammatical/thematic/typo cleaning up. That’s okay. That’s just my process. It usually takes me about seven drafts to get a submittable story. I have one friend who produces first drafts that are really tight, but she’s a freak! That’s not true for MOST of the other writers I know or have read about. I’ll let you know how the re-drafts go. In the meantime, I need to really work on the second full draft of my novel SPICES. It’s one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

